top of page

Our trip to Germany

Updated: Dec 3, 2018

Our trip to Germany was good for us as friends and even better for us as

students.


The students enjoyed their time in Germany, learning more about global practices and cultures.

June 24th – July 10th, 2018


My name is Ali Salman and I’m fifteen and three-quarters years old. I live in

Bethlehem with my parents and two brothers. One of my brothers is older than

me, and the other is younger than me. In my free time, I greatly enjoy sports,

especially swimming. I have been swimming at the De La Salle Club since

2005. I also enjoy studying other languages as a way to learn more about

different cultures. As students at the Evangelical Lutheran School in Beit

Sahour, my classmates and I had the opportunity to travel to Germany this year,

which furthered my appreciation for other cultures.

Our trip to Germany was good for us as friends and even better for us as

students. We spent time with each other every day, to eat together and have fun,

which had very positive effect on our trip. The things that we saw and learned in

Germany will help us solve environmental problems in our school and homes

by putting to use solar energy and wind power systems, while working to reduce

our carbon gas emissions.

The information we learned in Germany also improved our knowledge about

many historical and traditional sites and events in Europe. We saw many

differences between the “normal life” of Germans and our “normal life” as

Palestinians. Families in Germany are smaller than our families in Palestine,

and they socialize differently. They don’t do as many activities together during

the week, which is really different from here at home. In Palestine, we are used

to living with huge families and going out everyday to visit our relatives or our

friends in addition to our after-school trainings and activities

bottom of page