top of page

The Palestinian National School Orchestra

Updated: Dec 3, 2018

I was amazed that I could be in such an awesome orchestra that was led by master musicians, who clearly showed appreciation for the way I play guitar.

This experience gave me such enormous inspiration for my music career.


Playing guitar has become a passion

My name is Eliyah Khair and I am 17 years old. I am a student at the Evangelical Lutheran School in Beit Sahour. In addition to my school life, exams, and homework, I am passionate about music.

I was raised in musical family. Most of my family members are musicians, and they play

oriental music. Here I differ from my family, for I have always loved Western instruments, especially the guitar. I started studying guitar in the Edward Said Conservatory of Music, and am now a professional guitarist. In addition to playing guitar, I’ve also learned how to play the piano, drums, and bass guitar. I have also studied professional music theory and music composition techniques.

When I first heard about the Palestinian National Orchestra at school, and I was so excited about the possibility of joining. I went to Nablus and performed an audition, and was invited to play with the orchestra shortly after.

During the orchestra trainings, I learned many new things about playing in a group. It was a great experience! I was amazed that I could be in such an awesome orchestra that was led by master musicians, who clearly showed appreciation for the way I play guitar.

This experience gave me such enormous inspiration for my music career. So, I took a step further, and started working as a guitar teacher at the Palestinian Center for Rapprochement Between People. In this position I taught guitar to students and had the opportunity to share all of my experience and knowledge about guitar and music in general.

Today, I am a senior in high school and I have a lot of studying to do. Because of the heavy academic workload, I have stopped teaching guitar but I haven’t stopped playing guitar. I will never stop playing guitar, because it is a part of my life now—part of my body—and I can’t remove a piece of my body so easily.

As a musician, I recommend to everyone, whether you are a musician or not, to keep playing music. If you find your way into the world of music, you won’t ever really leave it. Your love for music will not only be about an instrument that you play, but that instrument will become a part of your body and soul, one that that can express your feelings and speak for you. Just try it and you won’t regret it.



Hashtag your posts

Love to #hashtag? Good news!

You can add tags (#vacation #dream #summer) throughout your posts to reach more people. Why hashtag? People can use your hashtags to search through content on your blog and find the content that matters to them. So go ahead and #hashtag away!


bottom of page