top of page

My MUN Experience

Updated: Dec 3, 2018

With Wix Blog, you’re not only sharing your voice with the world, you can also grow an active online community. That’s why the Wix blog comes with a built-in members area - so that readers can easily sign easily up to become members of your blog.



My name is Michael Khair. I'm sixteen years old in the eleventh grade. I live in a two story house with my parents, two brothers, one sister and my grandmother lives downstairs. My dad works as a blacksmith and my mom is a wedding planner. My mom also owns a shop in downtown Beit Sahour Fan-El Monasabat. I am a high school student and a member of the Model United Nations team at the Evangelical Lutheran School in Beit Sahour. Throughout my three years of participating in Model United Nations competitions, I learned a lot. I learned that everybody is seeking freedom and doing their best to be independent. I learned that by respecting others, you earn their respect. I remember my first Model United Nations conference. At that time, I had no experience with MUN, not even a little bit, but I still wanted to go. It was a disaster, and the only people that I knew at the competition were friends from my school. I knew nothing about the Model United Nations and I was afraid. Even though I was afraid, I tried my best and worked hard. I still came away with nothing! I was a bit disappointed but I was also proud of myself because I know I tried my best. I intended to do better at the next competition. After my first MUN conference, I had a better idea of what the competition was about, but it was still not enough to win an award. The next conference came and I was so excited that I started working on it one month beforehand, so as to depend on myself and know more! I worked hard and still came away with nothing! Again, I said to myself, “I'll do better next time.” The day of the next conference arrived and I thought I did well. I gave good opening speeches and asked a really important question to the members of other countries who were both with me and against me in the MUN committee. I was so happy with what I had achieved but at the closing ceremony I received nothing. But I learned that it’s not really about all the awards or fame that you receive at the closing ceremony. After my fourth MUN conference, five of my friends and I were nominated to represent our school and our country at an international MUN conference. It was an amazing opportunity and I felt to delighted to have been chosen to represent the school. I was so happy! Since we are from a small country that not everyone knows well, we made it our goal for everyone at the conference to recognize us. When we arrived, we did a great job and everyone in the conference came to know us. Now they know who we are, and recognize that our country is occupied. We may be small, but we achieved our goal by making Palestine a well-known country for the people at that conference. This allowed us to start travelling in Europe. We went to Slovakia and Germany and Vienna and many other countries, for both MUN Conferences and to participate in cultural exchange programs. My friends and I did our best to introduce our country to others, so that they may think positively of the Palestinian people, and consider the suffering caused by the Israeli Occupation. So, as a Model United Nations team, we worked hard to achieve great things.

bottom of page